Tom Wohlmut – The Light Between Two Towers

Wednesday, December 2, 2020
3pm Pacific / 4pm Mountain / 5pm Central / 6pm Eastern
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
Film – In French; Q&A – In English

Thomas Wohlmut is a veteran international documentary filmmaker. A graduate of UCLA film school, Tom is experienced at productions ranging from live broadcast TV to historical film documentaries. Tom began his career by working on “All in the Family”, “The Sonny and Cher Show”, “Mary Tyler Moore Show” and many other CBS Emmy Award winning shows of the 1970’s. He later went on to work in the burgeoning world of the Silicon Valley startups such as Hewlett Packard, Sun Microsystems, Intel, AMD, and many more. His award-winning film making projects have been viewed by audiences worldwide.

From 1965 to 1968 he lived in Paris as a young man. It was a transformational experience and gave him tremendous respect and appreciation for French culture and history. He has carried that in his heart all these 50 plus years. He continues to visit France frequently.

When Tom heard a rumor that the San Jose Light Tower had a relationship to the Eiffel Tower, he was excited and intrigued. Living in San Jose (Silicon Valley), California was the perfect opportunity to conduct the initial research into this potential relationship.

His recently completed documentary received world-wide acclaim. The film “The Light Between Two Towers” examines the relationship of the San Jose Electric Light Tower built in 1881 and the Eiffel Tower built in 1889. The program was the official selection of three international competitions and film festivals.

For additional information and a more detailed biography go to www.sanjoselighttower.com.

This event will be on Zoom and is FREE FOR ALL ALLIANCE FRANÇAISE MEMBERS ($10 for non-members). Click here to register.