Should Emily Pick Up More French?

Tuesday, December 1, 2020
10am Pacific / 11am Mountain / 12pm Central / 1pm Eastern
FIAF
In English

Netflix’s breakout hit Emily in Paris has been hotly debated by fans and critics in both the US and France. Having announced its second season, a burning question remains: is learning French critical to enjoy the best of life and culture in Paris?

In response, New York Times bestselling author Elaine Sciolino will lead a lively discussion with French students from both sides of the Atlantic. Students from the Alliance Française of Paris, the Alliance Française of Greenwich, and the French Institute Alliance Française of New York will be part of the conversation.

How long does it take to really know French and go beyond “bonjour”? To order a baguette? Speak up at a meeting? Hold your own at a chic party? Flirt with flair?

Elaine Sciolino is a writer for The New York Times and a former Paris bureau chief, based in France since 2002.

This event is in English and is open to the public.  The cost is $5 with the code AFN5. Click here to register.