Plat du jour with Susan Herrmann Loomis (3/27/21)

Saturday, March 27, 2021
10:00am Pacific/11:00am Mountain/12:00pm Central/1:00pm Eastern
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

French cooking doesn’t have to be complex—with Susan Loomis, it’s as easy as un, deux, trois! The spirit of the plat du jour, the dish of the day, is simplicity, seasonal ingredients, and joyful time at the table. Whether its Boeuf Bourguignon, Poule au Pot, or a simple Salade Niçoise, the French classics in Plat du Jour, as well as the more contemporary dishes in the book are made for the home cook. In Plat du Jour Loomis, partner in the new culinary video platform www.Dancingtomatoes.com and author of fourteen cookbooks, shows how to effortlessly transform any meal into an elegant and flavorful French masterpiece.

Having perfected each recipe, Loomis encourages and informs with step-by-step guidance and cooking tips, or astuces, to help you on your way to simple, do-able French culinary expertise. She’ll lead you through every course of you’re the plat du jour “formule,” from appetizers to desserts and major dishes in between, highlighting poultry, beef, pork, vegetables, eggs, and more. With gorgeous photography and fun facts from French culinary history, Plat du Jour is a must-have for any aspiring home cook with a craving for simple, often classical, easy to recreate seasonal French cooking.

Join Susan as she talks about the inspiration for PLAT DU JOUR, how she developed the idea, and how it is so fundamental to the whole French experience.

Susan Herrmann Loomis is the award-winning author of In a French KitchenOn Rue Tatin, and French Grill. Her work has appeared in the New York TimesBon Appetit, and Cooking Light. She lives in Paris, France.

Cover design: Allison Chi
Cover photograph © Francis Hammond
Author photograph © Francis Hammond

This event will be on Zoom and is FREE FOR ALL ALLIANCE FRANÇAISE MEMBERS ($10 for non-members). Click here to register.