Meet Martin Walker, author of the Bruno, Chief of Police series (5/20/21)

Thursday, May 20, 2021
11am Pacific/12pm Mountain /1pm Central/2pm Eastern
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Join the Federation of Alliances Françaises USA to hear about the internationally best-selling novel series on police chief Bruno Courrèges. The conversation will be moderated by Josette Marsh, president of Alliance Française of Hawaii, and VP of the Federation Board of Directors. 

Martin Walker will join us via Zoom to share his story of what inspired him to write his first novel, Bruno, Chief of Police, which is now in its 16th installment.

Based on real life characters in a small village in the Dordogne region of France, Bruno Courrèges is not your typical chief of police. He is a peaceful, gentle chap who likes to cook for his friends, teaches sports to the local children, and yearns to find a faithful wife with whom he can raise a family and settle down in his village, St. Denis. Not only does he find lost dogs, fight fires, and catches the occasional criminal, he also maintains a sophisticated intelligence network to thwart the interference of the European Union bureaucrats from far-off Brussels. We’ll also hear about life in the Dordogne region in southwest France known for its foie gras, cèpes, medieval villages, breathtaking scenery, and Cyrano de Bergerac.

About the Author: Martin’s career started as a writer then editor of the British daily newspaper The Guardian for which he served as bureau chief in Moscow and the United StatesHe joined United Press International (UPI) in 2000 as an international correspondent and is now its Editor-in-Chief Emeritus. He also holds various positions such as senior scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center of Scholars in Washington, D. C.,  senior fellow of the World Policy Institute at the New School in NYC, and contributing editor of the Los Angeles Times.

He will also read from his latest book, The Shooting at Chateau Rock, that leads Bruno into an investigation of a shady insurance company owned by a Russian oligarch whose daughter turns up in the Périgord. It will take everything that Bruno has to crack one of his toughest cases, after he’s had his lunch, of course.

To order The Shooting at Chateau Rock, click here.

This event will be on Zoom and is FREE FOR ALL ALLIANCE FRANÇAISE MEMBERS ($10 for non-members). Click here to register.