Mars in French: Exploring Mars from Rovers and Helicopters (8/5/21)

Thursday August 5, 2021
7pm PDT / 8pm MDT / 9pm CDT / 10pm EDT
Alliance Française de Pasadena
En français
Free for AF members of all chapters

Dr. Roland Brockers of the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory/California Institute of Technology presents, en français, a fascinating look at the current Mars exploration and the incredible work performed by both the Perseverance rover and the Ingenuity helicopter.

NASA’s newest rover, Perseverance, arrived on Mars in February 2021 carrying a small companion on board – the NASA Ingenuity Mars Helicopter – to demonstrate that controlled flight is feasible on another planet. Although Perseverance is the most sophisticated rover we have sent to Mars so far, the little helicopter Ingenuity has stunned us with exceptional performance since its maiden flight on April 19th, giving us a new perspective of the red planet: a view from the air.

Dr. Brockers will examine the history of Mars exploration that led to the Mars mission and will offer a close look at Perseverance and Ingenuity and what they are up to on the surface of the red planet.

Roland Brockers is a Research Technologist at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory/California Institute of Technology. He develops technology for autonomous navigation and perception of unmanned robotic systems. As part of the guidance, navigation and control team for NASA’s Ingenuity Mars Helicopter, he engineered the image-processing software that Ingenuity uses during flight to observe its motion, and is currently a member of the Ingenuity operations team.

This event is en francais and is free for AF members of all chapters.

Please click here to register.