LA MODE: A Fashion Primer by Jay Calderin, founder of the Boston Fashion Week (10/7/21)

Thursday, October 7, 2021
4:30pm PST / 5:30pm MST / 6:30pm CST / 7:30pm EST
French Cultural Center Alliance Française of Boston
In English

The French Cultural Center Alliance Française of Boston is excited to announce that Jay Calderin’s first book, The Fashion Design Reference & Specification Book, has just been translated into French (La Mode: Un Guide Pratique De Référence)!

During his book’s presentation, Jay will guide you through the fashion design process and connect the dots between many contemporary practices in the fashion industry and their French origins. He will also tell us about Boston Fashion Week,  a highlight of Boston’s fashion industry that he founded in 1995. This presentation will be followed by a live Q&A, so come ready with your questions!

Jay Calderin is an artist, author, educator, and the Founder/Executive Director of Boston Fashion Week. His fashion design work has graced the pages of Vogue and Elle magazines, been acquired by the Peabody Essex Museum, and featured in the New York Times Style Section. He teaches at the School of Fashion Design of Boston, the Massachusetts College of Art + Design, and the Boston Museum of Fine Arts. His artistic endeavors explore the intersections between communication, technology, culture, and community.

This event is in English and costs $12 (discount for AF Boston members). Please click here to register.