Coco Chanel: The Woman Who Dressed the World (2/12/21)

Friday, February 12, 2021
9:00am PST / 10:00am MST/ 11:00am CST / 12:00pm EST / 6:00pm Paris
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Join Rhonda Garelick, cultural commentator and author of Mademoiselle: Coco Chanel and the Pulse of History, in conversation with Pamela Druckerman.

Coco Chanel, born into poverty in rural France, was—by age 40—a multimillionaire and a household name. Her Chanel Corporation is still the highest-earning privately owned luxury goods manufacturer in the world. You can see Chanel’s taste reflected in what ordinary women wear: little black dresses, flat shoes, costume jewelry and cardigan sweaters. Yet her clothes also embody her own era, and were influenced by war, nationalism and social change.

How did Chanel do it? What was the woman herself really like? Rhonda Garelick and Pamelia Druckeman will explore Chanel’s unique genius for absorbing the zeitgeist, and reflecting it back to the world in her designs.

Rhonda Garelick is dean of the School of Art and Design History and Theory, at Parsons School of Design/The New School in New York. She’s the author of three books, and writes on fashion and cultural politics for New York Magazine, The New York Times and many other publications. Garelick received her B.A. and Ph.D. in comparative literature and French from Yale.

Pamela Druckerman is the author of five books including Paris By Phone, a rhyming picture book for kids.

This program, produced by Pandemonium U, is free to the public and is part of a series sponsored by the Federation of Alliances Françaises USA. Alliance Française and AATF members can register here to receive reminder messages and the Zoom link.