Carolyn Campbell, author of “City of Immortals”, on Père Lachaise Cemetery (4/22/21)

Thursday, April 22, 2021
4:00 pm PST / 5:00 pm MST / 6:00 pm CST / 7:00 pm EST
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Join the Federation of Alliances Françaises USA for a fascinating insight into this important and popular Parisian site. The conversation will be moderated by Charles Coulon, VP of Alliance Française of DuPage County, IL and Federation Board Member. 

About the book

This first-person account of a legendary necropolis will delight Francophiles, tourists, and armchair travelers while enriching the experience of taphophiles (cemetery lovers) and aficionados of art and architecture, mystery and romance. Carolyn Campbell’s evocative images are complemented by those of renowned landscape photographer Joe Cornish. City of Immortals celebrates the novelty and eccentricity of Père-Lachaise Cemetery through the engrossing story of the history of the site established by Napoleonic decree along with portraits of the last moments of the cultural icons buried within its walls.

 About the author

Writer and photographer Carolyn Campbell is a native of Washington, D.C., has lived in Paris and is now a resident of Los Angeles. A published author and exhibited photographer, her fascination with Père-Lachaise was kindled on a first visit to Paris in the early 1980s. Her research and photo documentation of the world-famous cemetery culminated in her debut book, “City of Immortals: Père-Lachaise Cemetery, Paris” named #2 on the Los Angeles Times Bestseller List and #1 on Amazon’s Hot New Releases.

You can purchase signed copies of the book through the publisher Goff Books with a 20% discount through April 30, 2021. Visit https://www.goffbooks.com/product/city-of-immortals/ and use promo code lachaise at checkout.

This event will be on Zoom and is FREE FOR ALL ALLIANCE FRANÇAISE MEMBERS ($10 for non-members). Click here to register.