Baking, Love, and Macarons

Saturday, January 30, 2021
7:00am PST / 8:00am MST / 9:00am CST / 10:00am EST
French Cultural Center Alliance Française of Boston
In English

This year, add a French twist to your Valentine’s Day celebrations: give amour and macarons!

Pastry lovers, join us to learn how to make French macarons with our French baker Sandrine Wallace, of French Pastry. Sandrine will teach you all her savoir-faire to bake the finest macarons from scratch.

In this workshop we will make chocolate and raspberry macarons.

Sandrine will guide you step by step through the crucial step of making the dough. A rest time before cooking is essential; you will not be able to cook your macarons during the hour and a half of the class, but Sandrine will show you this step, as well as the filling, steps that in themselves present no difficulty. We will send you the recording of this part as an extra help.

Don’t want to cook but only watch and take notes? You are more than welcome!

List of ingredients:

  • almond flour 80 grams (⅓ cup)
  • powdered sugar 140 grams (1⅛ cup)
  • sugar 20 grams (0.7 oz)
  • egg whites 70 grams (5/8 cup)
  • salt
  • hydrosoluble food coloring : pink and brown
  • raspberry jelly
  • dark or milk chocolate 32 grams (1/4 cup)

List of utensils:

  • 1 small bowl
  • 2 slightly bigger bowls
  • 1 electric whisk
  • 1 scale
  • 1 fine sieve
  • 1 spatula or a big spoon
  • 1 silicone macaron mat for 24 pieces
  • 1 oven pan big enough to fit the macaron mat

This event costs $15 (discount for AF Boston members) and is open to the public.  Click here to register.