Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Rodin Collection at the North Carolina Museum of Arts (en français)

February 10, 2023 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm CST

Friday, February 10, 2023
9:00am PST / 10:00am MST / 11:00am CST / 12:00pm EST
Alliance Française of Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill
En français

Join docent Diane Beckman for a virtual tour of the Rodin collection at the North Carolina Museum of Arts .

How did the North Carolina Museum of Art become the home to “the best collection of Rodin sculptures east of Los Angeles and south of Philadelphia?” This virtual presentation, based on the work of David Steel, the former curator of European Art at the NCMA, explains how the works came to Raleigh and why Rodin matters today.

To quote Mr. Steel, “It would hardly be an exaggeration to say that Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) forever changed the history of sculpture. Rarely had the medium so audaciously challenged the primacy of painting over the course of the nineteenth century. Long regarded as a “dead” medium of motionless, inert material, sculpture in Rodin’s nimble hands comes alive, breaking free of the plinths that traditionally separated sculpted figures in stone or metal from their earthbound beholders in flesh and blood. What makes Rodin’s sculpture so modern, it has been argued, is the way in which he takes traditional sculpture apart and puts it back together again in new and daring ways.

This event is free and is open to the public. Please click here to register.

Details

Date:
February 10, 2023
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm CST
Event Category:

Venue

Online